• Home
  • Department Alumnus Shares Breakthrough 2015 Prize

Department Alumnus Shares Breakthrough 2015 Prize

Sunday, November 9, 2014

Dr. Ron GillilandCongratulations to Department Alum, Dr. Ron Gilliland (BA ASTR, MATH, PHSX 1974), for being one of the scientists awarded the 2015 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physic. This prize was awarded to two supernova teams for their discovery of Dark Energy. The Breakthrough Prize was started in 2012 by a group of tech giants that includes Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg. The prize awards $3 million each to researchers who have made fundamental breakthroughs in life sciences, physics and mathematics.

Press release

Department Communications
Paper of the Week

Baldenegro Barrera, Baringer, Bean, Boren, Bowen, Bylinkin, Isidori, Khalil, King, Krintiras, Kropivnitskaya, Lindsey, Majumder, Mcbrayer, Minafra, Murray, Rogan, Royon, Sanders, Schmitz, Tapia Takaki, Wilson & CMS Collaboration

See previous papers

Mr. Bob T-Shirts: Lab Support